Volleyball News

Tokyo, Japan, November 20, 2017 – Six cities will host the 2018 FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship in Japan from September 29 to October 20, including Yokohama, Sapporo, Kobe, Hamamatsu, Nagoya and Osaka.

In the first round to be played from September 29 to October 4, the 24 teams participating in the competition will be split into four groups. The six teams in Group A will play at the Yokohama Arena. Group B matches will be held at the Hokkaido Prefectural Sports Center in Sapporo, Group C will be played at the Kobe Green Arena and the Hamamatsu Arena will host the matches in Group D.

The second round composed of two groups of 8 teams will be played in Nagoya and Osaka from October 7 to 11, while the third round matches featuring two groups of three teams will be played in Nagoya from October 14 to 16. All the matches in Nagoya will be played at the Nippon Gaishi Hall. Matches in Osaka will take place at the Municipal Central Gymnasium.

The competition will reach its climax in Yokohama on Friday, October 19 and Saturday, October 20. The Yokohama Arena will host the Final Round including the semifinals, the final and matches for third and fifth place.

The 2018 FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship will follow on from the men’s competition in Italy and Bulgaria from September 10 to 30. The FIVB’s flagship event for women’s national teams takes place every four years. USA claimed gold in Italy in 2014 and are the reigning world champions.


Related links of AVC

AVC Website: click www.asianvolleyball.net
AVC Facebook: click www.Facebook.com/AsianVolleyballConfederation
AVC Twitter: click: https://twitter.com/avcvolley
AVC Instagram: click: https://www.instagram.com/avcvolley/?hl=en
AVC Youtube: click: Asian Volleyball Confederation