Beach Volleyball News

Songkhla, Thailand, April 16, 2015 – China 1’s Ha Likejiang/Bao Jian and Vanuatu’s Miller Pata/Linlin Matauatu underlined their supremacy over the 16th “Samila-Chang” AVC Beach Volleyball Tour Thailand-Samila Open on Thursday, with the former landing the men’s title and the latter capturing the women’s crown.

The superb Chinese duo outclassed New Zealand 1’s Mike Watson and Sam O’Dea in the men’s final showdown 21-14 21-18, while Vanuatu’s Miller and Linlin thrashed Indonesia 1’s Jasita Putu Utami and Juliana Dhita 21-15 21-18 in the women’s climax at the packed Centre Court at Samila Beach in Songkhla.

In the  men’s event, Ha and Bao, the bronze medallists at the last year’s Asian Games in Incheon, Korea who finished a distant joint 17th place at the last week’s Asian Tour Nakhon Si Open in Nakhon Si Thammarat, pulled off a stunning 2-1 (21-13 16-21 15-9) victory over defending champions Rahman Raoufi/Bahman Salemi Injehoroun of Iran 1 in the semi-finals.

Watson and O’Dea shattered another Iran’s dreams of advancing to the final, adding agony to the Iran’s wound following a magnificent come-from-behind 9-21 23-21 15-12 triumph over Iran 2’s Saber Hoshmand/Abbas Pourasoar in the other semi-final clash.

Against the Kiwis in the showdown, the Beijing-based 23-year-old Ha made a perfect combination with his partner Bao. The determined Chinese played consistently to take the first set without much effort 21-14. The Tauranga pairing Watson and O’Dea, winners at the New Zealand Beach Volleyball Open in February, hit back with hard attacks in the close second set. Still, the Chinese opponents proved steadier to capture the hard-fought set 21-18, the match and the title.

In the third-place playoff earlier, Raoufi/Salemi powered past team-mates Hoshmand/Pourasoar 21-9 in the first set of the all-Iranians affair. The contest did not last long as the former won the match without sweating in the second set when the latter decided to pull out of the on-going contest due to an unexpected injury. Iran 1’s Raoufi/Salemi eventually claimed the third place after beating Iran 2’s Hoshmand/Pourasoar 21-9 21-0.

In the women’s showdown, Miller Pata and Linlin Matauatu lifted the Vanuatu’s victory for the third time in Thailand. Last year, Elvin Miller/Latika Henriette handed Vanuatu the first victory in the AVC Beach Volleyball Tour in Khanom, Nakhon Si Thammarat. Elvin Miller, with new partner Linlin Matauatu, captured the second title in Thailand for Vanuatu after winning the last years Pattaya Challenger in Chon Buri. This time in Songkhla, Miller Pata and Linlin Matauatu made it three for Vanuatu.

In-form Miller and Linlin breezed past Australia 2’s Becchara Palmer/Tamsin Hinchley 21-15 21-14 in the semi-finals, with Indonesia 1’s Jasita Putu Utami/Juliana Dhita stunning the last year’s Asian Beach Games gold medallists Tatyana Mashkova/Irina Tsimbalova of Kazakhstan 21-18 18-21 15-9 in the other semi-final encounter.

In the final showdown against Indonesia 1’s Jesita Putu Utami/Juliana Dhita, the Vanuatu pairing, who finished second to Japan 1’s Takemi Nishibori/Sayaka Mizoe at the last week’s Thungsong meet, covered the court marvellously to take the first set 21-15. The Indonesians regained their composure and played better in the second set, but Miller and Linlin came up with greater experience to capture the close set 21-18, the match and the crown.

The third place play off earlier saw Kazakhstan’s Tatyana Mashkova/Irina Tsimbalova struggle to beat Australia 2’s Becchara Palmer/Tamsin Hinchley in three-set thriller 21-18 18-21 15-9.

Songkhla Governor Thamrong Charoenkul presided over the awards presentation and the closing ceremony on Thursday. China 1’s Ha/Bao and Vanuatu’s Miller/Linlin landed the Champions Trophies plus the similar US$3,000 cash prize. Second places New Zealand 1 and Indonesia 1 claimed US$2,500 cash prize and third places Iran 1 and Kazakhstan took home US$2,000 prize money


Final: Vanuatu’s Miller/Linlin b Indonesia 1’s Jasita/Dhita 2-0 (21-15 21-18)

Third-place playoff: Kazakhstan’s Mashkova/Tsimbalova b Australia 2’s Palmer/Hinchley 2-1 (21-18 18-21 15-9)

Semi-finals: Vanuatu’s Miller/Linlin b Australia 2’s Palmer/Hinchley 2-0 (21-15 21-14); Indonesia 1’s Jasita/Dhita b Kazakhstan’s Mashkova/Tsimbalova 2-1 (21-18 18-21 15-9)


Final: China 1’s Ha/Bao b New Zealand 1’s Watson/O’Dea 2-0 (21-14 21-18)

Third-place playoff: Iran 1’s Raoufi/Salemi b Iran 2’s Hoshmand/Pourasgar 2-0 (21-9 21-0) injury forfeit

Semi-finals: China’s Ha/Bao b Iran 1’s Raoufi/Salemi 2-1 (21-13 16-21 15-9); New Zealand 1’s Watson/O’Dea b Iran 2’s Hoshmand/Pourasgar 2-1 (9-21 23-21 15-12)




1: China 1’s Ha Likejiang/Bao Jian

2: New Zealand 1’s Mike Watson/Sam O’Dea

3: Iran 1’s Rahman Raoufi/Bahman Salemi Injehoroun

4: Iran 2’s Saber Hoshmand/Abbas Pourasgar

5: Kazakhstan 1’s Alexandr Dyachenko/Alexey Sidorenko; Oman 1’s Haitham Al-Shereiqi/Ahmed Al-Housni; Kazakhstan 2’s Dmitriy Yakovlev/Alexey Kuleshov; Thailand 1’s Prathip Sukto/Kittipat Yungtin

9:. Japan 1; Philippines 1; Indonesia 2; Qatar 2; Australia 1; Oman 2; Japan 2; China 2

17: Indonesia 1; Qatar 1; Malaysia; New Zealand 2; Sri Lanka; India 1; Papua New Guinea 1; Papua New Guinea

25: Thailand 2; Vietnam 2; Australia 2; Maldives; Hong Kong 2; Thailand 3; Vietnam 1; Philippines 2; Singapore; India 2; Hong Kong 1


1: Vanuatu’s Miller Pata/Linlin Matauatu

2: Indonesia 1’s Jesita Putu Utami/Juliana DLitt

3: Kazakhstan’s Tatyana Mashkova/Irina Tsimbalova

4: Australia 2’s Becchara Palmer/Tamsin Hinckley

5: Thailand 1’s Varapatsorn Radarong/Tanarattha Udomchavee; New Zealand 2’s Danielle Quigley/Melissa Ruru; Japan 1’s TAkemi Nishibori/Sayaka Mizoe; Thailand 2’s Rumpaipruet Numwong/Khanittha Hongpak

9: Japan 2; Thailand 3; China 1; Hong Kong 2; Vietnam 1; Vietnam 2; Australia 1; New Zealand 2

17: Singapore; Indonesia 2; China 2; Hong Kong 1; Sri Lanka; Papua New Guinea; Malaysia