Beach Volleyball News

Thungsong, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Thailand, April 11, 2015 – Kazakhstan and Japan underlined their supremacy over the 6th “Nakhon Si-Chang-Select” AVC Beach Volleyball Tour Thailand-Nakhon Si Open at Thungsong Stadium on Saturday, with the former making a step better than they did last year and the latter dashing out Vanuatu’s title defence hopes.

Veterans Alexandr Dyachenko and Alexey Sidorenko of Kazakhstan 1 lived up to their billing as top seeds and gold medallists at the last year’s Asian Games in Incheon, Korea to narrowly edge China 2’s Wu Jiaxin and Li Jian in a tight contest 22-20 21-19 in 43 minutes to capture the men’s title.

This is the second victory of the Kazakh pairing in the Asian Tour in Nakhon Si Thamarat after they had sealed the first victory in 2012.

Last year, the Kazakh duo took the second place here after succumbing defeats to Qatar in the showdown.

In the final of the 2014 Asian Games in Incheon, Dyachenko and Sidorenko also stunned China, represented by Li Jian and Chen Cheng, to reign supreme.

Earlier, Dyachenko and Sidorenko breezed past Japan 1’s Takumi Takahashi and Yoshiumi Hasegawa 21-12 21-16 in the morning semi-finals, while Wu Jiaxin and Li Jian defeated New Zealand 1’s Mike Watson and Sam O’Dea 21-14 21-19 in the other semi-final clash.

The third-place playoff saw Kiwis Watson and O’Dea produce a magnificent come-from-behind 2-1 (12-21 21-19 21-13) victory over Japanese Takumi Takahashi and Yoshiumi Hasegawa.

Meanwhile, Japan 1’s Takemi Nishibori and Sayaka Mizoe shattered Vanuatu’s dreams to retain their crown. Last year, Vanuatu’s Elvin Miller and Latika Henriette stamped their authority here, but this time, Nishibori and Mizoe performed brilliantly to stun Vanuatu’s new pairing of Miller Pata and Linlin Matauatu in comfortable sets 21-18 21-16 to clinch the women’s title.

In the semi-finals earlier, Nishibori and Mizoe sank Thai hearts when the Japanese second seeds overpowered Thailand 1’s Varapatsorn Radarong and Tanarattha Udomchavee, silver medallists at the last year’s Asian Games in Incheon, Korea and the Asian Beach Games on home soil, in gruelling three sets 21-19 21-23 15-10.

The other semi-final encounter saw Vanuatu’s Miller Pata and Linlin Matauatu struggle to beat Australia 2’s Becchara Palmer and Tamsin Hinchley 21-14 26-24.

In the third-place playoff, Australia 2’s Palmer and Hinchley thrashed Thailand 1’s Varapatsorn Radarong and Tanarattha Udomchavee 21-13 21-19.

The awards presentation was held shorty after the completion of both showdowns. Kazakhstan 1’s Alexandr Dyachenko and Alexey Sidorenko and Japan 1’s Takemi Nishibori and Sayaka Mizoe captured the men’s and women’s titles to claim the similar prize money of US$30,000. Respective three runners-up in both categories took home US$2,500, US$2,000 and US$1,500.

Final rankings


  1. Kazakhstan 1 (Alexandr Dyachenko/Alexey Sidorenko)
  2. China 2 (Wu Jiaxin/Li Jian)
  3. New Zealand 1 (Mike Watson/Sam O’Dea)
  4. Japan 1 (Takumi Takahashi/Yoshiumi Hasegawa)
  5. Indonesia 2; Qatar 2; Indonesia 1; Iran 1

9. Thailand 2; Oman; Australia 1; Japan 2; Papua New Guinea 2; Thailand 1; Qatar 1; Kazakhstan 2

17. Hong Kong 2; Hong Kong 1; New Zealand 2; China 1; Vietnam 1; Philippines 1; India 1; Vietnam 2; Sri Lanka; Australia 2; Maldives; Papua New Guinea 1; Iran 2; Philippines 2; India 2; Thailand 3; Singapore; Malaysia


  1. Japan 1 (Takemi Nishibori/Sayaka Mizoe)
  2. Vanuatu (Miller Pata/Linlin Matauatu)
  3. Australia 2 (Becchara Palmer/Tasmania Hinchley)

4. Thailand 1 (Varapatsorn Radarong/Tanarattha Udomchavee)

5. Thailand 2; Indonesia 1; Australia 1; Japan 2

9. Kazakhstan; Hong Kong 1; Hong Kong 2; China 1; New Zealand 1; New Zealand 2; Thailand 3; Vietnam 2

17. Indonesia 2; Singapore; Vietnam 1; China 2; Sri Lanka; Papua New Guinea; Malaysia