Volleyball News


Dhaka, Bangladesh, May 23, 2015 – Seven countries took part in the Asian Senior Men’s Central Zone Volleyball Championship 2015, which kicked off Saturday at Shaheed Suhrawardi Indoor Stadium Mirpur, Dhaka Bangladesh.

Mr. Tofail Ahmed, MP, Commerce Minister, the People’s Republic of Bangladesh,  presided over the opening ceremony as chief guest of honour. MD Atiqul Islam, President of Bangladesh Volleyball Federation, BVF Secretary-General Mr. Ashikur Rahman Miku, AVC Vice President Mr. Essa Hamza Almad Al Failakawi, Mohammad Reza Davarja, President of Iran Volleyball Federation, and Chaudhary Avadhesh Kumar, President of Indian Volleyball Federation, are also present in the auspicious occasion.

The participating teams are Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan Turkmenistan, Nepal, Afghanistan, Maldives and hosts Bangladesh. The opening match between Bangladesh and Maldives saw the former beat the latter with a come-from-behind 20-25, 25-19, 25-21, 25-20 victory. The occasion was full of spectators and a colorful cultural show was arranged after the opening ceremony.