Beach Volleyball News

Hong Kong, China, September 30, 2015 – A total of 24 teams from 13 countries will strut their stuff in the 2015 AVC Beach Volleyball Tour – Hong Kong Open Women’s Championship between October 1 to 4.

The team briefing and drawing of lots were held on Wednesday, with AVC Secretary-General Mr Shanrit Wongprasert presiding over the ceremony. Also joining the meeting were Referee Delegate Mr Stephen Giugni, Technical Supervisor Mr Anthony Liao, Mr Cheung Chi Wai, Director of Volleyball Association of Hong Kong China, and Executive Chairperson Mr Thomas Chang.

According to the draw, the 24 teams have been split into eight groups (A to H) of three teams. The participating countries comprise Vanuatu, Kazakhstan, Macao, Japan, Hong Kong, Australia, Chinese Taipei, New Zealand, Indonesia, Thailand, China, Guam and Vietnam.

The pool plays will be held on Thursday morning, with Vanuatu’s Linlin Matauatu/Pata Miller, who captured last year’s Pattaya Challenger in Chon Buri, Thailand and this year’s Samila Open Asian Beach Volleyball Tour in Songkhla, Thailand, taking on Macao’s Law W.S/Leong O.I in Pool A, Japanese Takemi Nishibori/Sayaka Mizoe will play Macao’s Lei S.K/Lei W.S in Pool B, while Thailand’s Varapatsorn Radarong/Tanarattha Udomchavee, silver medallists at the last year’s Asian Beach Games in Phuket, Thailand, and silver medallists at the Asian Games in Incheon, Korea on the same year, set up their first clash against little-known players from Guam in Pool F.

The pool round-robin competition will take place from October 1 to 2 before the draw will next be held for teams competing in the second round.