Beach Volleyball News

Hong Kong, China, October 1, 2015 – The 2015 AVC Women’s Beach Volleyball Championship Hong Kong kicked off on Thursday with strong showings by big guns, thrashing their respective rivals in comfortable straight sets.

Vanuatu’s top seeds Miller Pata/Linline Matauatu, who captured two titles last year in Thailand consisting of the Pattaya Challenger in Chon Buri and the Asian Tour Samila Open in Songkhla, lived up to their top billing to mercilessly crush Law Weng Sam/Leong On Ieng 21-5 21-4 in just 22 minutes in Pool A. The Macao 2’s duo suffered the second loss at the hands of Kazakhstan 2’s Bakhtygul Samalikova/Yekaterina Lassyuta after going down tamely 10-21 13-21 in 26 minutes.

The same script was written in Pool B when Macao 1’s Lei Sing Kuan/Lei Weng Si lost twice on the same day. They first went down to Japan 1’s second seeds Takemi Nishibori/Sayaka Mizoe 4-21 5-21 in just 25 minutes before succumbing their second defeat to Hong Kong 3’s Lo Wai Yan/Tam Hin Ching Rachel 18-21 12-21.

In Pool C, third seeds Louise Bawden/Taliqua Clancy of Australia 1 tasted their first victory in the four-day event following their convincing 21-13 21-11 triumph over Chinese Taipei 2’s Liu Pi Hsin/Chang Ya Chu. However, the Taiwanese pairing made amends to brush off Hong Kong 1’s To Wing Tung/Koo Yung Yung 21-6 21-16 in their second clash.

Kazakhstan 1’s fourth seeds Tatyana Mashkova/Irina Tsimbalova, gold medallists at the last year’s Asian Beach Games in Phuket, Thailand, got their Pool D campaign off to a flying start with sensational 21-12 21-13 win over Chinese Taipei 1’s Kou Nai Han/Tasai Tsui Jung. The Taiwanese duo continued their losing streak following the bitter 9-21 12-21 loss to Japan 2’s Miki Ishii/Megumi Murakami in their second encounter.

In Pool E, Australia 2’s fifth seeds Mariafe Artacho Del Solar/Nicole Laird powered past Indonesia 2’s Desi Ratnasari/Ayu Cahyaning Siam 21-11 21-20, while New Zealand’s Julia Tilley/Shaunna Polley added to the Indonesians’ same wounds with another agony after beating Desi/Ayu in hard-fought straight-set encounter 21-18 21-17.

Sixth seeds Varapatsorn Radarong/Tanarattha Udomchavee, silver medallists at two major tournaments last year comprising the Asian Beach Games on homes soil in Phuket and the Asian Games in Incheon, Korea, gave Thailand something to cheer in Pool F when the Thai pairing thrashed Guam 1’s Tatiana Sablan/Kendra Byrd 21-5 21-4 in 26 minutes. The Guam’s pairing tried to improve their form in their second clash against Chen Chunxia/Tang Ningya. Still, the Chinese proved too much for the hapless rivals, overwhelming them with power and superb form to win the one-sided match 21-7 21-9.

Vietnam’s Do Hong Loan Huynh/Cam Thi Tran failed to make their mark in Pool G to go down straight two losses. They suffered their first loss 15-21 16-21 at the hands of the Incheon Asian Games gold medallists Ma Yuanyuan/Xia Xinyi of China 2 before losing 17-21 11-21 to Thailand 2’s Khanittha Hongpak/Rumpaipruet Numwong.

In Pool H, Hong Kong 2’s Ng Tin Lai/Wong Yuen Mei pulled off a comfortable 21-12 21-5 win over Guam 2’s Jasmine Wenzel/Kristi Hammond. The Guam duo’s second encounter saw them beaten in straight sets 8-21 11-21 by Indonesia 1’s Dhita Juliana/Putu Dini Jasita Utami.

The pool round-robin preliminaries continue through Friday before the drawing of lots will be made for teams advancing for the next round.


Friday, October 2, 2015

Linline Matauatu/Miller Pata (Vanuatu) v Bakhtygul Samalikova/Yekaterina Lassyuta (Kazakhstan 2)

Takemi Nishibori/Sayaka Mizoe (Japan 1) v Lo Wai Yan/Tam Hing Ching (Hong Kong 3)

Louise Bawden/Taliqua Clancy (Australia 1) v To Wing Tung/Koo Yung Yung (Hong Kong 1)

Tatyana Mashkova/Irina Tsimbalova (Kazakhstan 1) v Miki Ishii/Megumi Murakami (Japan 2)

Mariafe Artacho Del Solar/Nicole Laird (Australia 2) v Julia Tilley/Shaunna Polley (New Zealand)

Varapatsorn Radarong/Tanarattha Udomchavee (Thailand 1) v Chen Chunxia/Tang Ningya (China 1)

Ma Yuanyuan/Xia Xinyi (China 2) v Khanittha Hongpak/Rumpaipruet Numwong (Thailand 2)

Ng Tin Lai/Wong Yuen Mei (Hong Kong 2) v Dhita Juliana/Putu Dini Jasita Utami (Indonesia 2)