Beach Volleyball News

Hong Kong, China, October 3, 2015 – Two Australian pairings advanced to the Sunday’s semi-finals of the 2015 AVC Women’s Beach Volleyball Championship Hong Kong, with Mariafe Artacho Del Solar/Nicole Laird taking on Vanuatu’s Linline Matauatu/Miller Pata and Louise Bawden/Taliqua Clancy pitted against Chinese Ma Yuanyuan/Xia Xinyi.

Contesting the quarter-finals on Saturday, top seeds Matauatu/Pata, who combined well to win two titles in Thailand last year consisting of the Pattaya Challenger in Chon Buri and the Asian Tour Samila Open in Songkhla, had a little problems in thrashing Indonesia 1’s Dhita Juliana/Putu Dini Jasita Utami in straight sets 21-11 21-19, while Peruvian-born Artacho/Laird of Australia 2 produced a magnificent come-from-behind 17-21 21-11 15-13 victory over Japan 2’s Miki Ishii/Megumi Murakami.

The other quarter-final matches saw Australia 1’s Bawden/Clancy power past China 1’s Chen Chunxia/Tang Ningya 22-20 21-15 and China 2’s Ma/Xia stun Kazakhstan 1’s Tatyana Mashkova/Irina Tsimbalova, gold medallists at the last year’s Asian Beach Games in Phuket, Thailand, 21-14 21-17.

In the Sunday morning’s semi-finals, Vanuatu’s Matauatu/Pata will go up against Australia 2’s Artacho/Laird, gold medallists at the last year’s World Under 23 Beach Volleyball Championships in Poland, while Australia 1’s Bawden/Clancy will challenge China 2’s Ma/Xia, champions at the last year’s Asian Games in Incheon, Korea.

The two losers will battle it out in the Sunday afternoon’s third-place playoff, with the two winning teams advancing to the afternoon final showdown.

Meanwhile, Thailand 1’s Varapatsorn Radarong/Tanarattha Udomchavee, silver medallists at the last year’s Asian Beach Games on home soil and the Asian Games in Korea, failed to make their mark to go down 16-21 9-21 to much stronger Bawden/Clancy from Australia 1 in the elimination round. Team-mates Khanittha Hongpak/Rumpaipruet Numwong also faced the similar fate when they were beaten by Japanese Miki Ishii/Megumi Murakami in a totally one-sided battle 9-21 10-21.



Linline Matauatu/Miller Pata (Vanuatu) b Julia Tilley/Shaunna Polley (New Zealand) 2-0 (21-14 21-13)

Dhita Juliana/Putu Dini Jasita Utami (Indonesia 1) b Bakhtygul Samalikova/Yekaterina Lassyuta (Kazakhstan 2) 2-0 (21-12 21-15)

Mariafe Artacho Del Solar/Nicole Laird (Australia 2)  b Lo Wai Yan/Tam Hing Ching (Hong Kong 3) 2-0 (21-12 21-11)

Miki Ishii/Megumi Murakami (Japan 2) b Khanittha Hongpak/Rumpaipruet Numwong (Thailand 2) 2-0 (21-9 21-10)

Louise Bawden/Taliqua Clancy (Australia 1) b Varapatsorn Radarong/Tanarattha Udomchavee (Thailand 1) 2-0 (21-16 21-9)

Chen Chunxia/Tang Ningya (China 1) b Liu Pi Hsin/Chang Ya Chu (Chinese Taipei 2) 2-1 (21-15 16-21 15-9)

Ma Yuanyuan/Xia Xinyi (China 2) b Cat/Won Yuen Mei (Hong Kong 2) 2-0 (21-14 21-10)

Tatyana Mashkova/Irina Tsimbalova (Kazakhstan 1) b Takemi Nishibori/Sayaka Mizoe (Japan 1) 2-1 (21-10 19-21 15-12)


Matauatu/Pata (Vanuatu) b Dhita/Putu (Indonesia 1) 2-0 (21-11 21-19)

Artacho Del Solar/Laird (Australia 2) b Ishii/Murakami (Japan 2) 2-1 (17-21 21-11 15-13)

Bawden/Clancy (Australia 1) b Chen Chunxia/Tang Ningya (China 1) 2-0 (22-20 21-15)

Ma Yuanyuan/Xia Xinyi (China 2) b Mashkova/Tsimbalova (Kazakhstan 1) 2-0 (21-14 21-17)




Match 37: Matauatu/Pata (Vanuatu) v Artacho Del Solar/Laird (Australia)

Match 38: Bawden/Clancy (Australia) v Ma Yuanyuan/Xia Xinyi (China 2)

THIRD-PLACE PLAYOFF: Losers Match 37 v Match 38

FINAL: Winners Match 37 v Match 38