Beach Volleyball News

Cantho, Vietnam, May 3, 2016 – Eleven beach volleyball teams from seven countries including Australia, China and New Zealand will pit their expertise in the AVC Women’s Beach Volleyball Tour Vietnam – Cantho Open 2016 from May 4 to 7.

As the world U23 champions Mariafe Artacho del Solar/Nicole Laird from Australia decided not take part in the Cantho Open, the opportunity is open for other teams to seek for glory here. The Australian duo clinched silver in the Asian Championships at Manly Beach in Sydney in March aside from sweeping both Pak Bara Open and Samila Open titles in Thailand and the Ha Long Open crown in Vietnam.

This time, Mowen sisters, Justine and Jordan, will represent Australia in the four-day meet. The Mowen siblings have been playing together since 2008 and have consistently ranked among the top teams in Australia.

Apart from Australians Justine and Jordan Mowen, the other participating teams comprise New Zealand’s Julia Tilley/Alice Bain, fresh from taking silver at the last week’s Ha Long Open, China’s Wang Xinxin/Ding Jingjing, joint third place at Ha Long, Hong Kong’s Ng Tin Lai/Wong Yuen Mei and Indonesia’s Ragillia Nanda/Andriani Riski Dwi.

Also contesting the Asian tour event in Cantho are New Zealand 2’s Shannen Bagge/Melisa Ruru, Thailand 1’s Ariya Laosaengsa/Kijja Khantarak, Thailand 2’s Yodsaphat Pakham/Chanthira Khanok and three Vietnamese teams led by Vietnam 1’s Nguyen Thi Thanh Tram/Tu Thi Thu Van.

All the participating teams have been divided into two pools. Hong Kong, China, Vietnam 1, New Zealand 2 and Thailand 2 are in Pool A, with Pool B featuring New Zealand 1, Australia 1, Vietnam 2, Thailand 1, Indonesia and Vietnam 3.

The pool round-robin preliminaries will kick off on May 4, with Zealand 1 taking on Vietnam 3 in the opener. The opening ceremony will take place at 7pm local time, while Vietnam 1 will take on New Zealand 2 in the curtain-raisers.

After the preliminaries, Pool A winners will play fourth place in Pool B, with second place in Pool A taking on third place in Pool B in the quarter-finals. The four winning teams will then advance to the semi-finals. The semi-finals, the third-place playoff and the final showdown will all be held on May 7.