Volleyball News


Nay Pyi Taw, Myanmar, June 22, 2016 -Myanmar will host the 19th South East Asian Junior Men’s Volleyball Championship in Nay Pyi Taw between July 2 and 6, with seven teams vying for the eventual crown.

The five- day competition has been divided into two pools. Pool A comprises Thailand, New Zealand,  Singapore and Myanmar  team B, while Pool B features  India, Maldives and Myanmar team A.

The contest will be played in a preliminary round-robin stage in each pool with the top two teams in each pool advancing to the semi-finals.

The competition will be held at Wunna Theikdi Indoor Stadium with the seating capacity of 30,000. The gymnasium was used to host the 2013 South East Asian Games and and the Asean Para Games in 2014.

The first day of the contest on July 2 will start with the opening ceremony at 11 am local time and after that will see hosts Myanmar  team B take on Singapore at 12.30 pm, Thailand challenge New Zealand at 2.30 pm,and Indonesia  face Maldives at 4.30 pm.

Myanmar team B will meet New Zealand at 12 pm in the opening match of the second day competition, followed by Singapore playing Thailand at 2 pm and Myanmar A battling against Maldives at 4pm.

On day 3 Myanmar B will contest Thailand with New Zealand facing Singapore and Myanmar challenging Indonesia.

The 5th-6th place Classification round and the semi-finals contest will be played on July 5, starting from noon 12 pm until 4 pm.

The last day of the competition, awarding presentation and closing ceremony will take place in July 6.