Volleyball News

Bangkok,Thailand, June 29, 2016 – Eight countries have confirmed their participation in the Princess Cup 19th Est Cola Southeast Asian Women’s U19 Volleyball Championship, which will be held from June 16 to 20 in Si Sa Ket, Thailand.

The eight participating teams in this tournament comprise Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore, Australia, New Zealand, Vietnam, Philippines and hosts Thailand.

Mr Somporn Chaibangyang, president of Thailand Volleyball Association, presided over the press conference on June 16 at Alexander Hotel in Bangkok. Also taking part as guests of honour were Mrs Tantip Sirinupong, director of Community Development program Thai Beverage, and Mr Siripong Angkasakulkiat, president of Sisaket Sports Association. In attendance with the meeting were the national U19 players and a number of journalists.

Somporn said in the meeting, “This tournament has been regarded as one of the most important events in junior level in which the players can show their potentials and gain valuable experience. These young players will then be included in the senior national team and replace the retiring players in the future.

The tournament will be held with aims of encouraging the Asean federations to promote volleyball by sending their teams to compete with the Asia’s leading teams such as China, Japan, Korea and Chinese Taipei.

“I do hope that the participating teams in this tournament will be able to catch up with the top Asian teams in the future.I wish everyone a success,” he added.

“Volleyball is one of the most popular sports in Si Sa Ket.That’s the reason why more and more international tournaments have been hosted in this province including the Princess Cup this year.”

Meanwhile, Mr. Siripong revealed about how far the preparation the province has made in hosting the tournament.

“On behalf of the Sisaket Sports Association and representative of the province, we are so glad that Si Sa Set has been trusted to host the Princess Cup 19th Est Cola Southeast Asian Women’s U19 Volleyball Championship this year. As hosts, we promise to do our best to provide the best service to impress all participants during their staying in the province. Accommodations, the competition courts and volunteers have been prepared to make sure that we are ready for this tournament,” Siripong concluded .

The participating teams are divided to two pools with the Philippines, New Zealand, Singapore and hosts Thailand in Pool A. Pool B features Vietnam, Indonesia, Australia and Malaysia.

The top two teams in each pool will advance to the semi-finals, while the third and fourth places of each pool will contest the 5th-8th classification round on July 18. The third place playoff and the championship match will take place on July 20.

Match schedule
July 16
11am: Opening ceremony
12pm: Vietnam vs Malaysia
2pm: New Zealand vs Thailand
4pm: Indonesia vs Australia
6pm: Philippines vs Singapore

July 17
12pm: Malaysia vs Australia
2pm: Vietnam vs Indonesia
4pm: Philippines vs New Zealand
6.30pm: Singapore vs Thailand

July 18
12pm” Malaysia vs Indonesia
2pm: New Zealand vs Singapore
4pm: Australia vs Vietnam
6pm: Thailand vs Philippines