Volleyball News

Surabaya, Indonesia, July 23, 2017 – Dr Eom Han-Joo, Chairman of the AVC Sports Events Council and the Control Committee of the SMM 19th Asian Senior Men’s Volleyball Championship, chaired the General Technical Meeting on Sunday, with head coaches and officials from 16 teams joining. The meeting took place at Hotel Wyndham in Surabaya to inform all the participating teams rules and regulations of the game as well as all necessary information about the competition.

The championship will be held from July 24 to August 1, 2017, with 16 teams vying for the top honours. Hosts Indonesia, Qatar, Kazakhstan and Saudi Arabia are in Pool A, while Pool B comprises former two-time champions Iran, Chinese Taipei, Pakistan and Iraq.

Pool C consists of title-holders Japan, Korea, Vietnam and Sri Lanka, with Australia, China, Thailand and Hong Kong in Pool D. On Monday, the very first day of the top-tier competition, four matches apiece will be contested at two halls – the GOR Tri Darma and the WEP (Wahana Ekspresi Pusponegoro. The host side will take on Saudi Arabia, Chinese Taipei play Pakistan, Thailand challenge China, Iran meet Iraq, Qatar face Kazakhstan, Australia play Hong Kong, Korea meet Vietnam and Japan kick off their title defence campaign against Sri Lanka.


Related links of AVC

AVC Website: click www.asianvolleyball.net
AVC Facebook: click www.Facebook.com/AsianVolleyballConfederation
AVC Twitter: click: https://twitter.com/avcvolley
AVC Instagram: click: https://www.instagram.com/avcvolley/?hl=en
AVC Youtube: click: Asian Volleyball Confederation