Beach Volleyball News

Singapore, September 30, 2017 – Indonesia underlined their supremacy over the 29th South East Asian (SEA) Beach Volleyball Championships after pulling off stunning victories over Thailand in final showdowns to make a clean sweep of both men’s and women titles at the Palawan Beach, Sentosa here on Saturday.

In the women’s event, Dhita Juliana/Putu Utami, who downed Desi Ratnasari/Yokebed Eka 25-22 21-15 in the all-Indonesians semi-finals, struggled to beat Thailand’s Rumpaipruet Numwong/Khanittha Hongpak 21-17 18-21 15-10 in the final clash to be crowned the champions. The Thai duo thrashed Vietnamese Mai Thi Hoa/Tran Thi Cam Thi 21-16 21-12 in the other semi-final encounter.

Indonesia also captured the men’s title when top seeds Candra Rachamawan/Mohamad Ashfiya stormed past Thailand’s Nuttanon Inkiew/Sedtawat Padsawud 21-19 21-14 in the thrilling showdown. Candra/Mohamad faced a tough test from Adisorn Khaolumtarn/Surin Jongklang in the semi-finals earlier to cruise past the fighting Thais in hard-fought three sets 21-14 19-21 15-12, while Nuttanon/Sedtawat avenged the loss to Indonesia after producing a comeback 2-1 (15-21 21-16 15-12) win over Indonesians Gilang Ramadhan/Danagsyah Pribadi in the other semi-final clash.

“It has been an impressive experience, well organised in a beautiful location with a clearly competent promoter,” said Mr Angelo Squeo, New Events Business Director, Fédération Internationale de Volleyball (FIVB) after the final matches. He added, “I see the potential for beach volleyball to be very successful here and to be developed further especially since Asians have a better chance of winning in this sport. Singapore also has the potential to be a beach volleyball destination such as the beaches in Copacabana, Brazil with more international events and more public enjoying the sport.”

The governing body responsible for all forms of volleyball on a global level, FIVB was present during the championships in Sentosa to explore future collaborations in the development of beach volleyball in Singapore.

“As an organisation largely dependent on volunteers, we are extremely grateful for all the support from the volunteers who helped out on the courts as well as all our partners who have made this championships an incredible experience for everyone,” said Mr Ang Wei Neng, President of the Volleyball Association of Singapore (VAS). “Having wrapped up a successful SEA Beach Volleyball Championships, we are looking forward to next year’s AVC Beach Volleyball Tour and have started raising funds and preparation for it.”

Sanctioned by Asian Volleyball Confederation (AVC), the championships were supported by FIVB, Sports Singapore, Unusual Limited, The Co-Organization, Tote Baord, Miksa Sports, New Balance Singapore, One Farrer Hotel & Spa, Sentosa Development Corporation, Comfort Delgro Group, Eat What, Yeo’s H-Two-O, Banana Boat and Toshiba Asia Pacific.

AVC Beach Volleyball Director, Mr Kritsada Panaseri was in Singapore since September 25 to oversee the entire setup. “Singapore’s setup has exceeded expectations. The stage was huge and with live entertainment, it brought the entire experience of beach volleyball to the next level.”

The championships concluded with an electrifying live after-party featuring local artists Jack & Rai and 53A.

Follow Volleyball Association of Singapore (VAS) official Facebook page at @VolleyballAssocSG or their website at for more news of beach volleyball happenings in Singapore.

Semi-Finals: Rumpaipruet Numwong/Khanittha Hongpak (Thailand) b Mai Thi Hoa/Tran Thi Cam Thi (Vietnam) 2-0 (21-16 21-12).
Dhita Juliana/Putu Utami (Indonesia) b Desi Ratnasari/Yokebed Eka (Indonesia) 2-0 (25-22 21-15).
Final: Dhita Juliana/Putu Utami (Indonesia) b Rumpaipruet Numwong/Khanittha Hongpak (Thailand) 2-1 (21-17 18-21 15-10)

Semi-Finals: Candra/Rachmawan/Mohamad Ashfiya (Indonesia) b Adisorn Khaolumtarn/Surin Jongklang (Thailand) 2-1 (21-14 19-21 15-12)
Nuttanon Inkiew/Sedtawat Padsawud (Thailand) b Gilang Ramadhan/Danangsyah Pribadi (Indonesia) 2-1 (15-21 21-16 15-12)
Final: Candra Rachmawan/Mohamad Ashfiya (Indonesia) b Nuttanon Inkiew/Sedtawat Padsawud (Thailand) 2-0 (21-19 21-14).

1. Candra Rachmawan/Mohamad Ashfiya (Indonesia)
2. Nuttanon Inkiew/Sedtawat Padsawud (Thailand)
3. Adisorn Khaolumtarn/Surin Jongklang (Thailand) and Gilang Ramadhan/Danangsyah Pribadi (Indonesia)

1. Dhita Juliana/Putu Utami (Indonesia)
2. Rumpaipruet Numwong/Khanittha Hongpak (Thailand)
3. Mai Thi Hoa/Tran Thi Cam Thi (Vietnam) and Desi Ratnasari/Yokebed Eka (Indonesia)


Related links of AVC

AVC Website: click
AVC Facebook: click
AVC Twitter: click:
AVC Instagram: click:
AVC Youtube: click: Asian Volleyball Confederation