Volleyball News



Lausanne, Switzerland, August 28, 2018 – Four countries will host FIVB Age-Group World Championships in 2019, including Egypt, Tunisia, Mexico and Bahrain. The tournaments will take place from July to August 2019, with host cities and dates to be announced in due course.


Girls’ U18s in Egypt

Egypt will host the 2019 FIVB Volleyball Girls’ U18 World Championship – the North African nation returns to hosting duties after also setting the scene for the FIVB Volleyball Men’s U23 World Championship in 2017.


Boys’ U19s in Tunisia

A second tournament will take place on the African continent next year when Tunisia hosts the 2019 FIVB Volleyball Boys’ U19 World Championship. Iran (gold), Russia (silver) and Japan (bronze) won the medals in this age category in 2017.


Italy jump for joy as they celebrate winning gold at the Girls’ U18 World Championship in Argentina in 2017


 Women’s U20s in Mexico

Mexico will also return to hosting duties in 2019 when the North American country welcomes the FIVB Volleyball Women’s U20 World Championship. It will be the second consecutive edition of the competition held in the country after the 2017 event visited the cities of Boca del Rio and Cordoba in the Mexican state of Veracruz.


Men’s U21s in Bahrain

The fourth Age-Category World Championship next year will be held in Bahrain, which will host the 2019 edition of the  FIVB Volleyball Men’s U21 World Championship. The country also staged the Boys’ U19 World Championship in 2017.



Poland celebrate winning the Men’s U21 World Championship in 2017
Medal winners in 2017:
2017 Men’s U21s in the Czech Republic
1. Poland – Gold
2. Cuba – Silver
3. Russia – Bronze
2017 Women’s U20s in Mexico
1. China – Gold
2. Russia – Silver
3. Japan – Bronze
2017 Boys’ U19s in Bahrain
1. Iran – Gold
2. Russia – Silver
3. Japan – Bronze
2017 Girls’ U18s in Argentina
1. Italy
2. Dominican Republic
3. Russia