Beach Volleyball News


Satun, Thailand, September 24, 2018 – Home favourites Nattanon Inkiew/Sedtawat Padsawud, who stole the limelight early this year to capture the maiden FIVB 1-star World Tour SMM Pak Bara Beach Satun here, are top seeds at the SMM 2018 Asian Senior Beach Volleyball Championships and will kick off their campaign against qualifiers Tamer Abdelrasoul  and Assam Mahmoud from Qatar in Pool A on Tuesday.

Teams participating in the five-day tournament between September 24 and 28 comprise Australia, China, Hong Kong China, Indonesia, Iran, Japan, Kazakhstan, Saudi Arabia, Maldives, New Zealand, Oman, Qatar, Singapore, Chinese Taipei, Vanuatu, Vietnam, Malaysia and hosts Thailand.

The drawing of lots as well as the General Technical Meeting took place on Friday evening at Lake Terrace and The Lake View Hotel here, with all participating teams, staff coaches and a number of journalists in attendance. Technical Delegate Mr Kritsada Panaseri presided over the ceremony and jointly conducted the drawing of lots with Referee Supervisor Jayaraman Srinivasan from India.

The men’s competition features eight pools from Pool A to Pool H with four teams apiece contesting the pool round-robin preliminaries, while in the women’s event, only 3 teams each will be competing in Pool A to Pool F, except in Pool G and Pool H, which have four teams apiece to battle one another in the pools.

According to the draw results, Thailand’s Nattanon/Sedtawat are top seeds in Pool A with Hong Kong China’s Chui Kam Lung/Wong Pui Lam, Japan’s Yuya Ageba/ Koichi Nishimura and qualifiers Assam Mahmoud/Tamer Abdelrasoul from Qatar. Fresh from winning gold medal at the recent Asian Games in Indonesia, Ahmed Janko/Cherif Samba from Qatar are the second seeds in Pool B with Oman’s Nouh AL Jabubi/Mazin AL Hashmi , Singapore’s Kingsley Tay Z. H. K. /Shen Fan Yang and qualifiers Mahfouz Ali/Alkhawaher Dhia from Saudi Arabia.

Peng Gao/Yang Li from China are third seeds in Pool C with Indonesia’s Gilang Ramadhan/Imtaq Shihab, Malaysia’s Asruki Rafi Nordin/Raja Nazmi and qualifiers Chenwei Hsu/Shinshian Wu from Chinese Taipei.

The men’s main draw is due to kick off at 8:00am on Pak Bara Beach with top seeds Nattanon/Setawat taking on qualifiers Mahmoud/Tamer; Ahmed Tijan/Cherif playing Ali/Dhia and Peng/Gao challenging Hsu C.W/WU S.S.

In the women’s contest, Thailand’s Varapatsorn Radarong and her new partner Khanittha  Hongpak are top seeds to join Kazakhs Samalikova/Rachenko and Yakebed/Sari from Indonesia in Pool A.

Australia’s Artacho Del Solar /Taliqua Clancy, runners-up at the Commonwealth Games 2018 on their home soil, are second seeds in Pool B with Malaysia’s Joo Shu Woon/ Diong Zhi Ling and Thailand’s Pawarun Chanthawichai/Thatsarida Singchuea, while Pool C is composed of  third seeds Miki Ishii/Megumi Murakami of Japan, China’s Zhu Lingdi/M.M. Lin and Thais Sumintra Sow/Anchana Changkham.

In the women’s main draw, the first match will be held at 10.30am, but local hopefuls Varapatsorn/Khanittha will play their first encounter against Indonesians Yokebed/Sari at 17.00pm, while the Australian duo of Artacho/Clancy will take on the Malaysian pair of Shu Woon/Zhi Lang at 10:30am with the Japanese Ishii /Murakami facing Sumintra/Anchana at the same time.

Only the top two teams from each pool after the pool round-robin preliminaries will advance to the next round.

At night, all participating teams including referees and officials attended the welcome dinner with Satun Governor Mr. Pattarapon Rattanapichettachi presiding over the opening ceremony.

“We feel very honored to have been entrusted by Thailand Volleyball Association to host this prestigious tournament. I wish all participating teams the best success in this tournament. And I hope you will enjoy and have a good time staying in Satun, the land of harmony and Thailand’s first Unesco Global Geopark,” he said in his speech.





Hsu C. W/WU S.S (TPE) b Shiunaz/Ismail(MDV) 2-0 (21-13, 21-13)

D.Kitti/N.Banlue(THA) b Pong/Wong(HKG) 2-0 (21-17, 21-18)

Ali/Dhia (KSA) b Choo W. J. B./S.P. Yeo (SIN) 2-0 (21-18, 21-18)

Mahmoud/Tamer(QAT) b Gee J W/Radzi (MAS) 2-0 (21-12, 21-12)


Related links of AVC:

AVC Website:

AVC Facebook:

AVC Twitter:

AVC Instagram:

AVC Youtube: Asian Volleyball Confederation

AVC WeChat: Asian Volleyball Confederation