Referees News


Bangkok, Thailand, October 7, 2018 – After seven days of theoretical and practical parts, the 2018 AVC International Beach Volleyball Referee Candidate Course came to a successful conclusion on Sunday at Valaya Alongkorn Rajabhat University in Pathum Thani.

Associate Professor Dr Sombat Kotchasit, Advisor to the university, presided over the closing ceremony and presented the certificates to all 19 candidates from 12 countries comprising Australia, Bangladesh, Guam, Hong Kong China, Iran, Japan, Malaysia, Maldives, Singapore, Thailand, Chinese Taipei and the Philippines.

The one-week course, which was opened on October 1 by Thailand Volleyball Association President Mr Somporn Chaibangyang, was conducted under the close supervision of FIVB Referee Instructor Mr Thomas Chang, himself the AVC Referee Committee member from Hong Kong China, and AVC beach volleyball Director Mr Kritsada Panaseri from Thailand.

Also in attendance in the ceremony as guest of honour was Mr Issara Riddhisinha, General Manager of the FIVB Development Centre – Thailand.

“On behalf of Valaya Alongkorn Rajabhat University and Thailand Volleyball Association, I would like to extend a huge congratulations to all participants who attended the course and passed the tests. I hope beach volleyball will be more popular in Asia and worldwide. I am sure you all get knowledge and more experience from the course in order that you can become good referees in the near future. My sincere thanks also go to AVC and the FIVB Development Centre Thailand for hosting this development course. Lastly, I wish everyone good luck and a safe flight back home,” Prof Sombat Kotchasit said in her closing speech.

The course was aimed at training international referees and improving and updating referees’ knowledge and competence of beach volleyball rules according to the most recent trends of the sport.

Those who underwent the assessment after the course and passed the tests are as follows.

1 Mr Derek John Scales from Australia.
2 Mr Peter Graeme Bawhey from Australia
3 Mr Saifullah Munir from Bangladesh
4 Mr Christopher Torr from Guam
5 Mr Yu Pong Christopher Law from Hong Kong China
6 Mr Hassan Bazdarhava from Iran
7 Mr Akbar Mosayebi Dorcheh from Iran
8 Mr Imaizumi Takayuki from Japan
9 Mr Masayasu Yamamoto fro Japan
10 Mr Guo Chen Lieu from Malaysia
11 Mr Muhamad Amirul Azmmeer Azmi from Malaysia
12 Mr Ismail Abdulla from Maldives
13 Mr Chan Chi Yiu Chan from Singapore
14 Mr Chee Boon Andy Soh from Singapore
15 Mr Jaturong Thongwat from Thailand
16 Mr Lerson Saolon from Thailand
17 Mr Yung Hsi Sun from Chinese Taipei
18 Mr Chien Chuan Lee from Chinese Taipei
19 Mr Racelis Joven from the Philippines


Related links of AVC:
AVC Website:
AVC Facebook:
AVC Twitter:
AVC Instagram:
AVC Youtube: Asian Volleyball Confederation
AVC WeChat: Asian Volleyball Confederation