Volleyball News


Nay Pyi Taw, Myanmar, December 14, 2018 – Invincible Philippines smashed Thailand’s dreams of sweeping both titles in the 19th Asean University Games Volleyball Tournament at the Wunna Theikdi Indoor Stadium Hall B as they stunned the defending and consecutive six-time champions 27-25, 25-21, 22-25, 25-20 in the action-packed final showdown to run away with the men’s title.

The Philippines’ dramatic win in the final clash was another feat that was repeated in the six-day competition. The Filipinos had beaten Thailand in straight sets in the very first match of the pool round-robin preliminaries on December 9 and they proved again that they were the strongest team this time to repeatedly beat the strong Thais in the last match of the six-team competition.

Thailand entered the tournament with their heads high in great pride and confidence as they captured the title for six times in a row consisting of the Hanoi2006 (Vietnam), Kuala Lumpur2008 (Malaysia), Chiang Mai2010 (Thailand), Vientiane2012 (Laos), Palembang2014 (Indonesia) and Singapore2016, while the Philippines, starring players from reigning UAAP men’s champions National University, came up in full strength to win every match they played in this tournament.

With the resounding success in Nay Pyi Taw, the Philippines surpassed their bronze-medal finish in the 2016 edition in Singapore. Thailand were relegated to second place for the first time in 12 years, while hosts Myanmar had to be content with bronze medal after pulling off a convincing win over Indonesia, silver medallists at the previous Games in Singapore two years ago.

Meanwhile, the Thai women’s team, strengthened by former Thailand national junior players including Kuttika Kaewpin, Sineenart Phocharoen and Tichaya Boonlert, stretched their unbeaten record to three consecutive times following their lop-sided 25-7 25-10 25-17 victory over Singapore in the final showdown on Friday.

Thailand had already made it three in a row in the Asean University Games Volleyball Tournament as they captured the crown in Hanoi2006, Kuala Lumpur2008 and Chiang Mai2010, but they hit a snag at Vientiane2012 when they suffered a shock defeat at the hands of Vietnam in the final encounter. The Thailand team regained their lost pride to record three successive wins again when they recovered to reign supreme in Palembang2014, Singapore2016 and here Nay Pyi Taw2018.


1. The Philippines
2. Thailand
3. Myanmar
4. Indonesia
5. Malaysia
6. Singapore


1. Thailand
2. Singapore
3. Myanmar


Related links of AVC:
AVC Website: www.asianvolleyball.net
AVC Facebook: www.Facebook.com/AsianVolleyballConfederation
AVC Twitter: https://twitter.com/avcvolley
AVC Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/avcvolley/?hl=en
AVC Youtube: Asian Volleyball Confederation
AVC WeChat: Asian Volleyball Confederation