Bangkok, Thailand, April 19, 2024 – Star spiker Tran Thi Thanh Thuy, captain of Vietnam women’s national volleyball team, will spearhead VTV Binh Dien Long An’s challenge at the 14th VTV9 Binh Dien Cup International Women’s Volleyball Cup 2024, which will be held at Buon Ma Thoat in Dak Lak, Vietnam from May 11 to 19.

Tran Thi Thanh Thuy to lead VTV Binh Dien Long An this time

The tournament got off the ground in 2006 and has been held continually, but was cancelled in 2009. Over the 13 editions, the tournament has been highly praised by professionals for its organisation and the quality of participating teams. After a 4-year hiatus due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the VTV9 Binh Dien Cup is back and due to be held next month, with eight teams vying for top honor and cash prizes on offer.

Hoa Chat Dirc Giang Lao Cai, VTV Binh Dien Long An, PFU BlueCats (Japan) and U20 Vietnam are in Pool A, with Pool B consisting of Sichuan (China), U20 Thailand, BCTT Truong Turoi Binh Phuroc and LPBank Ninh Binh.

Sichuan wins title at the previous edition in 2019

Teams will compete in the pool round-robin preliminaries, with only top two teams advancing to the cross semifinals. The two winnings teams in the semifinals will battle it out for the eventual title, while the losers in the two semifinals will contest the third-play playoff for bronze medal. Classification matches will also be organized for the teams ranked 5th-8th.

After nearly four years of playing in Japan under the PFU BlueCats banner, the 193cm-tall Tran Thi Thanh Thuy, 27, will, as the contract with BlueCats will expire at the end of April, return to play for Binh Dien Long An in the VTV9 Binh Dien Cup tournament and then go to Turkey, where she will play for the Turkish club under a 10-month loan contract.

Aside from home crowd favourite Tran Thi Thanh Thuy, the other two Vietnam women’s national team players,  Nguyen Khanh Dang (libero) and Vo Thi Kim Thoa, will strengthen Long An and aim for their third title after winning their first two in 2007 and 2010.

Early this month, VTV Binh Dien Long An, playing without Tran Thi Thanh Thuy, captured the Vietnam’s Hung Vuong King Cup 2024 after a dramatic 3-1 win against LPBank Ninh Binh in the final showdown in Viet Tri-Phu Tho, Vietnam.

However, steered by the powerful Tran Thi Thanh Thuy, VTV Binh Dien Long An are regarded as the strongest Vietnamese Club team in this tournament. Still, touch challenge can be expected from LPBank Ninh Binh, captained by hard-attacking Nguyen Thi Bich Tuyen.

Another formidable team to be reckoned with in the nine-day tournament also include title-holders Sichuan of China, led by opposite hitter Miao Yiwen, who played in the Chinese national women’s team at the last year’s VNL 2023 preliminaries. In 2019, she also played with the Chinese team which finished 7th at the FIVB Women’s U20 World Championship in Mexico. The 187cm-tall Miao has just finished her professional league with PTT Spor Club in Turkish Cup 2023-2024 season.

Japan’s PFU BlueCats, which emerged as champions of the Kurowashi Cup All Japan Volleyball Tournament for the first time ever in 2023, are also strong with the likes of the Cuban-born Melissa Valdes, 185cm.

This tournament also serves as a stepping stone for U20 Vietnam, with Vietnam women’s national team head coach Nguyen Tuan Kiet at the helm, and U20 Thailand in their intensive preparation for the 22nd Asian Women’s U20 Volleyball Championship. The Asian meet will take place in Jiangmen, China from July 1 to 8, 2024, which serves as the continental qualification to seek best four teams for the FIVB Volleyball Women’s U21 World Championship 2025.

Apart from the Binh Dien Cup at stake for the eventual winners, cash prizes are also up for grabs for participating teams. The eventual winning team will receive US$15,000 cash prize, while respective three runners-up take home US$10,000, US$7,000 and US3,000 respectively. US$3,000 will go for the Stylist Prize and US$2,000 for Encouragement Prize. Individual awards will each receive US$700, except MVP will pocket US$1,000.

In the previous 13 editions, Vietnam’s local teams claimed 8 titles (Vietin Bank in 2006 and 2016, Binh Dien Long An in 2007 and 2010, Vital Thai Binh in 2008, BTL Thong tin ini 2011, Lienvietpost Bank in 2013 and 2014), leaving invited squads to win the remaining 5 comprising China’s Jiangsu in 2012 and 2018, North Korea’s 4.25 Club in 2015, Thailand’s Bangkok Glass in 2017 and China’s Sichuan in 2019.

The tournament will kick off on May 11, with HCDG Lao Cai taking on U20 Vietnam in the opener at 2pm local time, followed by Sichuan (China) vs LPBank Ninh Binh at 5pm. Shortly after the opening ceremony at 8.10pm, hosts VTV Binh Dien Long An will open their campaign against PFU BlueCats.

Live broadcast can be watched via VTV9, VTV8, VTV5 Western Highland, SCTV15, On Sports.


AVC Website: click

AVC Facebook: click

AVC Twitter: click:

AVC Instagram: click:

Mikasa Instagram: click:

AVC Youtube: click: Asian Volleyball Confederation

AVC WeChat: Asian Volleyball Confederation