Photos courtesy of Thailand Volleyball Association

Bangkok, Thailand, April 16, 2021 – The Thailand Volleyball Association has called up 20 players to attend national team’s training camp in preparation for the 2021 FIVB Volleyball Nations League, which will be competed within one secure bubble in the Italian city of Rimini from May 25 to June 25.

All players displayed outstanding performances in the recent Thailand League including Chutchu-on Moksri, who landed best outside spiker and best scorer awards in the Thailand’s top-flight professional volleyball league, Sasipaporn Chanthawhisut, who also won the best outside spiker, best middle blocker Chitaporn Kamlangmak and best libero Yupa Sanitklang.

Furthermore, many players who have been called up proved to be indispensable assets to the Thailand squad as they have gained valuable overseas experiences which can help improve team effectiveness and performance as well as boost the team’s success.

Ajcharaporn Kongyot leaps to attack

Among these experienced players are Ajcharaporn Kongyot, Pimpichaya Kokrum, Chutchu-on Moksri, Pornpun Guedpard and Thatdao Nuekjang, all of whom have joined the Thailand national team in several major overseas competitions including the FIVB World Grand Prix, the FIVB VNL, the Montreux Volley Masters, the Asian Championship and the Asian Games.

Chutchu-on Moksri celebrates her point scored

Chutchu-on, Pornpun, Thatdao, Hathairat Jarat and Kaewkallaya Kamulthala also played professionally in Japan’s V. League 1. Kaewkallaya and Thatdao joined JT Marvellous Club to capture the V. League 1 crown in 2019-2020 and 2020-2021 seasons respectively.

Thatdao Nuekjang on her way to attack

All 20 players have been asked to report at Sports Authority of Thailand on April 19 to undergo COVID-19 testing and if their tests reveal negative results, they will have to report again at the SAT on April 20 before travelling to Nakhon Pathom, a small province with an approximate distance of 56km from Bangkok, for a one-month intensive training. Mr Danai Sriwacharamaytakul is expected to be named the national head coach for the Thailand team.

Aside from the VNL, the Thailand squad are also due to take part in the Asian Senior Women’s Championship, where top two teams will qualify for the 2022 FIVB Women’s World Championship in Netherlands and Poland.

Sasipaporn Chanthawhisut shouts for joy after scoring points for her team during the recent Thailand League

Current world No.15 Thailand, which finished 15th and 12th in their first two editions of the spectacular competition, will test their mettle against other strong 15 teams in this year’s VNL.

In the women’s event this year, the 12 core teams compris world No.1 and Rio Games champions China, world No.3 Brazil, Germany, Italy, Asian champions Japan, Korea, Netherlands, Russia, world champions Serbia, Thailand, Turkey and defending and consecutive two-time champions USA, while the four challenger teams are Belgium, the Dominican Republic, Poland and Canada, which won the latest FIVB Volleyball Challenger Cup to replace Bulgaria, which were relegated in 2019.

The round-robin preliminaries of the women’s competition will be held on May 25 and completed on June 20. Only top four teams after the completion of the preliminaries will advance to the semi-finals (in a departure from the final six format of the previous seasons) on June 24, with the third-place playoff and the final clash taking place the following day.

This year, the competition will be played in one secure bubble in Rimini, Italy. The measures being implemented ensure athletes are able to compete safely while bringing live volleyball action to millions of fans worldwide. They include frequent testing, strict health and hygiene measures and an array of risk mitigation protocols in order to significantly reduce the risk of virus transmission.

The 2020 VNL was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

1. Pornpun Guedpard
2. Thichaya Boonlert
3. Supatcha Kamtraraksa
4. Supattra Pairoj
5. Yupa Sanitklang
6. Jidapa Nahuanong
7. Chutchu-on Moksri
8. Ajcharaporn Kongyot
9. Kuttika Kaewpin
10. Wipawee Srithong
11. Sasipaporn Chanthawhisut
12. Pimpichaya Kokrum
13. Thanacha Suksod
14. Thatdao Nuekjang
15. Kaewkallaya Kamulthala
16. Hatthaya Bamrungsuk
17. Chitaporn Kamlangmak
18. Thichakorn Boonlert
19. Charasporn Bandasak
20. Hathairat Jarat

Related links of AVC
AVC Website: click
AVC Facebook: click
AVC Twitter: click:
AVC Instagram: click:
AVC Youtube: click: Asian Volleyball Confederation
AVC WeChat: Asian Volleyball Confederation