Yogyakarta, Indonesia, March 18, 2023 – Formidable Bandung Bank bjb Tandamata women’s volleyball team successfully defended their crown after defeating Jakarta Pertamina Fastron in a hard-fought five-set thriller 27-25, 25-22, 24-26, 20-25, 15-8 in the grand final of the PLN Mobile Proliga 2023 at GOR Amongrogo, Yogyakarta on Saturday.

Bank bjb’s successive two victories in the Proliga have matched the achievements of Surabaya Bank Jatim, which captured the title two times in a row in 2007 and 2008, and Jakarta Popsivo Polwan, which landed the title for consecutive two times in 2012 and 2013.

At the previous season, the team, owned by the West Java Regional Government, had won the highest Caste
Bolavoli competition in the country by toppling Gresik Petrokimia during the final match.


Bandung bjb’s face-off with Jakarta Pertamina Fastron was a highly-anticipated final showdown because since the beginning of the season, both teams were hot favorites, tipped for the eventual champions.

Jakarta Pertamina actually played more solidly in the first set, even almost winning when they were far ahead 23-18. However, Bank bjb did not give up and managed to withstand the opponent’s onslaughts to win five consecutive points to equalize the score 23-23. Even then the team, under the close guidance of coach Alim Suseno, bagged the hotly-contested first set 27-25.

The second set turned out to be a similar script. But Bank bjb, which relied mostly on powerful attacks from Medeline Jazmin and Ceren Kapucu, managed to win 25-22 and stretch it to the two-set lead.

Holding a 0-2 disadvantage, Jakarta Pertamina Fastron did not want to give up easily. Megawati Hangestri came up for the rescue and played with a more solid defense to extend her breath while helping her team take the tough third set 26-24.

Pertamina Fastron’s aggressive play continued in the fourth set, which they won 25-20, forcing the tie-breaker to determine the eventual winners..

The decider was tense. Pertamina Fastron got off to a confident start for a three-point clear to initially lead 4-1, but the title-holders Bandung bjb tried to narrow the margin. Their determination paid off handsomely when they equalized 4-4. Medeline Jazmin became a Bank bjb’s smashing machine after that when she utilised her sharp spikes to methodically puncture the rivals’ defence to move her team ahead 8-4.


Moments later, the reigning champions’s pace to win the title could not be denied by the strong opponents. Bandung bjb stopped the resistance of Jakarta Pertamina Fastron and their entire challenge 15-8 for the match and the championship.


After the match, Bank bjb coach Alim Suseno said that the match was tough as earlier expected. “Ahead of this match, I was so confident that it will not be that easy, but thank God Allah for giving us fortune to defend title this time,” said Alim, who last season also led Bank bjb to winning the Proliga.

Alim, who was chosen as the best coach, admitted that in this final match, he felt very euphoric. The loud cheering full of excitement of the audience made a good atmosphere for the match.

Meanwhile, Pertamina Fastron coach, Eko Waluyo admitted that luck was not with his team in this final match. “We should win the fifth set,” added Eko.

By defending their title, apart from being presented with the Champions’ Trophy and gold medal, Bank bjb also received cash incentives of Rp 350 million. Runners-up Pertamina Fastron received Rp 150 million.


The third place went to Gresik Petrokimia Pupuk Indonesia to receive Rp 125 million, with Jakarta BIN in fourth position to receive Rp 100 million.

The individuals had also been announced during the awards presentation. Mediol Stiovanny Yoku of Petrokimia landed the MVP award, while Medeline Jazmin Guillen of Bank bjb won the Best Server and Bohdana Anisova of Petrokimia took the Best Spiker. The Best Blocker award was won by Myrasuci Indriani of BIN.

In addition, Arneta Putri Amelian of Fastron captured the Best Setter award, while Yulis Indahyani of Bank bjb and Fernanda Tome of BIN claimed the Best Libero and Best Scorer awards respectively. Alim Suseno of Bank bjb was the best pick of the bunch for the Best Coach award.

As the MVP received cash incentives of Rp 25 million, those winning the individual awards and the Best Coach took home Rp 10 million apiece.

Champions: Bandung Bank bjb Tandamata 

Second place: Jakarta Pertamina Fastron 

Third place: Gresik Petrokimia Pupuk Indonesia

Fourth place: Jakarta BIN 


AVC Website: click

AVC Facebook: click

AVC Twitter: click:

AVC Instagram: click:

AVC Youtube: click: Asian Volleyball Confederation

AVC WeChat: Asian Volleyball Confederation