The competition will feature 18 nations competing across a total of 56 games

The line up of beach volleyball teams participating in the Trinbago 2023 Commonwealth Youth Games has been confirmed as the Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF) today announced the nations selected for the team sports events.

The Commonwealth Youth Games are set to take place in the win island nation of Trinidad and Tobago from 4-11 August 2023, with the beach volleyball event featuring 18 Commonwealth Games Associations (CGAs) competing across a total of 56 games, over a six day period.

In the men’s beach volleyball competition, England will be looking to defend their title against a broad field that includes Canada, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and South Africa. As will Australia, who will be taking on teams including the Cayman Islands, Scotland, Kenya and Bermuda in the women’s event. 

The beautiful Pigeon Point Beach will be the competitions’ home from 5-10 August.

FIVB President Dr Ary S. Graça F° said:

“The Commonwealth Youth Games is a great springboard for young beach volleyball athletes across the Commonwealth to gain invaluable experience competing at an international multi-sport event. The FIVB has been working tirelessly to develop beach volleyball worldwide through Volleyball Empowerment and our development programmes, and we know that the teams selected represent a strong line-up for Trinbago 2023. We have no doubt the level of the competition will have fans on the edge of their seats in Trinidad and Tobago, while really embracing the fun spirit of beach volleyball.”

CGF President, Dame Louise Martin, commented:

“We are thrilled to unveil the nations competing in the team sports at Trinbago 2023. The Beach Volleyball, FAST5 Netball and Rugby Sevens competitions are set to be highly competitive, with nations from across the Commonwealth vying for gold. It will be an unforgettable, inspiring experience for the young athletes involved and an opportunity for fans to see the stars of the future.”

Entry for team sports was by invitation and the demand for places was once again high. Following applications by CGAs, the CGF, in full consultation with the respective International Federations, made the final selection based on criteria including host nation representation, past results, depth of field and strength of competition, and regional representation.

The Commonwealth Youth Games is an invaluable springboard for the stars and leaders of tomorrow, contributing to the further development of youth sport throughout the Commonwealth. Trinbago 2023 will see more than 1,000 athletes and para athletes, between the ages of 14-18, from the 72 nations and territories, participate in a total of seven sports.

The full list of qualified teams can be found below.

Beach Volleyball – Women’s

1.       Trinidad & Tobago

2.       Rwanda

3.       Canada

4.       Mozambique

5.       Cayman Islands

6.       England

7.       Australia

8.       New Zealand

9.       Vanuatu

10.   Scotland

11.   Kenya

12.   Bermuda

Beach Volleyball – Men’s

1.       Trinidad & Tobago

2.       Gambia

3.       Canada

4.       Sri Lanka

5.       St Kitts & Nevis

6.       England

7.       Australia

8.       Cyprus

9.       New Zealand

10.   Rwanda

11.   St Lucia

12.   South Africa


AVC Website: click

AVC Facebook: click

AVC Twitter: click:

AVC Instagram: click:

AVC Youtube: click: Asian Volleyball Confederation

AVC WeChat: Asian Volleyball Confederation