Lausanne, Switzerland, February 10, 2020 – The FIVB today announced the highly-experienced volleyball and beach volleyball referee teams that will ensure the highest standards of officiating at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

The teams comprise the world’s best 22 volleyball and 19 beach volleyball referees, representing all five Continental Confederations.

The referees will be overseen by six referee coaches (three per disciplines), all of whom are members of the FIVB Refereeing and Rules of the Games Commission. The referee coaches will supervise the referee teams, providing guidance, based on their extensive knowledge and expertise, in the build-up to and during the Olympic Games.

For the first time in Olympic history, the referee teams for each discipline will also include three ‘Challenge’ referees, who will be assigned to support the work of the first and second referees during matches. The highly-renowned Video Challenge System was successfully introduced at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games to ensure greater accuracy and add to the spectacle of matches.

Among the referee appointments for Tokyo 2020 are a number of officials who are very familiar to the volleyball community, including volleyball referee Andrei Zenovich from Russia and beach volleyball referee José Maria Padron from Spain. Both referees are highly experienced and accustomed to refereeing Olympic Games having done so at Beijing 2008, London 2012 and Rio 2016.

Volleyball – Referee team
Guillermo Paredes (ARG) – Referee coach
Alexander Steel (SCO) – Referee coach
Sergey Titov (RUS) – Referee coach
Shin Muranaka (JPN) – Referee
Sumie Myoi (JPN) – Referee
Andrei Zenovich (RUS) – Referee
Juraj Mokry (SVK) – Referee
Susana Maria Rodriguez (ESP) – Referee
Paulo Turci (BRA) – Referee
Denny Cespedes (DOM) – Referee
Wojciech Maroszek (POL) – Referee
Daniele Rapisarda (ITA) – Referee
Patricia Rolf (USA) – Referee
Vladimir Simonovic (SRB) – Referee
Hernan Casamiquela (ARG) – Referee
Nasr Shaaban (EGY) – Referee
Liu Jiang (CHN) – Referee
Fabrice Collados (FRA) – Referee
Kang Joo-Hee (KOR) – Referee
Mohammad Shahmiri (IRI) – Referee
Hamid Alrousi (UAE) – Referee
Luis Macias (MEX) – Referee
Taoufik Boudaya (TUN) – Challenge referee
Zorica Bjelic (SRB) – Challenge referee
Arturo Di Giacomo (BEL) – Challenge referee

Beach volleyball – Referee team
José Casanova (POR) – Referee coach
Maria Amelia Villas-Boas (BRA) – Referee coach
André Trottier (CAN) – Referee coach
Osvaldo Sumavil (ARG) – Referee
Mário Ferro (BRA) – Referee
Juan Carlos Saavedra Caceres (COL) – Referee
José Maria Padron (ESP) – Referee
Julien Bruxelles (FRA) – Referee
Charalampos Papadogoulas (GRE) – Referee
Davide Crescentini (ITA) – Referee
Agnieszka Myszkowska (POL) – Referee
Rui Jorge Carvalho (POR) – Referee
Roman Pristovakin (RUS) – Referee
Nina Hobi (AUT) – Referee
Wang Lijun (CHN) – Referee
Mariko Satomi (JPN) – Referee
Carlos L. Rivera Rodriguez (PUR) – Referee
Brigham Beatie (USA) – Referee
Giovanni Bake (RSA) – Referee
Jonas Personeni (SUI) – Challenge Referee
Elzir Martins de Oliveira (BRA) – Challenge Referee
John Bennett (AUS) – Challenge Referee

Related links of AVC
AVC Website: click www.asianvolleyball.net
AVC Facebook: click www.Facebook.com/AsianVolleyballConfederation
AVC Twitter: click: https://twitter.com/avcvolley
AVC Instagram: click: https://www.instagram.com/avcvolley/?hl=en
AVC Youtube: click: Asian Volleyball Confederation
AVC WeChat: Asian Volleyball Confederation