Lausanne, Switzerland, January 9, 2019 – As per the World Ranking on January 1, 2019, the FIVB Volleyball Intercontinental Olympic Tournament pools scheduled to be played in August are now confirmed.

The winners of these pools to be played in single round robin format with the women’s teams competing from August 2 to 4 and the men’s sides between August 9 and 11 will join hosts Japan in the volleyball competition at the Tokyo 2020 Olympics. Venues will be announced in due course.

In the women’s competition Cuba (the 24th best ranked team excluding Japan) did not confirm its participation and will be replaced by the next best ranked team, Poland. In the men’s competition, the 24 eligible teams have confirmed their participation.

Women’s pools:

Pool A: Serbia, Puerto Rico, Thailand, Poland

Pool B: China, Turkey, Germany, Czech Republic

Pool C: USA, Argentina, Bulgaria, Kazakhstan

Pool D: Brazil, Dominican Republic, Cameroon, Azerbaijan

Pool E: Russia, Korea, Canada, Mexico

Pool F: Netherlands, Italy, Belgium, Kenya.

Men’s pools: 

Pool A: Brazil, Egypt, Bulgaria, Puerto Rico

Pool B: USA, Belgium, Netherlands, Korea

Pool C: Italy, Serbia, Australia, Cameroon

Pool D: Poland, France, Slovenia, Tunisia

Pool E: Russia, Iran, Cuba, Mexico

Pool F: Canada, Argentina, Finland, China

The Olympic qualification process will continue in January 2020 with each of the five Continental Confederations (AVC, CAVB, CEV, CSV, NORCECA) organising its own Olympic Qualification Tournament to advance one team each to Tokyo 2020.

The 2020 Olympic Games will be held in Tokyo, Japan from July 24 to August 9.


Related links of AVC:

AVC Website:

AVC Facebook:

AVC Twitter:

AVC Instagram:

AVC Youtube: Asian Volleyball Confederation

AVC WeChat: Asian Volleyball Confederation