Stefano Lavarini names veterans and new faces to join his team this season

The Korean Volleyball Association released the list of the women’s national team players who will participate in the 2021 FIVB Volleyball Nations League and the Olympic Games Tokyo 2020 on Wednesday.

Italian coach Stefano Lavarini

Italian coach Stefano Lavarini selected a total of 18 players, including captain Kim Yeon-Koung, who led Heungkuk Life Pink Spiders in the Korean V-League this season, experienced players Yang Hyo-Jin, Kim Su-Ji and Kim Hee-Jin, and reigning V-League champions Lee So-Young and Kang So-Hui.
The Italian coach will also be introducing new faces like outside hitter Kim Joo-Hyang and setter Kim Da-in.
The players are scheduled to convene at Jincheon Athlete’s Village starting on April 23. Lavarini, currently at the helm of Igor Gorgonzola Novara in the Italian League, is expected to arrive as soon as the club season is over and will join the team after completing a two-week period of self-isolation. Until then, former national team coach Kang Sung-Hyung will lead training.

Koree are looking forward to a good performance at the VNL, where nine of the 16 teams are their Olympic Games opponents in Tokyo. The 12 players who will compete at Tokyo 2020 will be confirmed after the VNL.

2021 Korean women’s team roster

Outside hitters
1. Kim Yeon-Koung (Heungkuk Life Insurance Pink Spiders)
2. Lee So-Young (GS Caltex Seou KIXX)
3. Kang So-Hui (GS Caltex Seou KIXX)
4. Pyo Seung-Ju (IBK Altos)
5. Kim Joo-Hyang (IBK Altos)

6. Park Jung-Ah (Korea Expressway Corporation Hi-Pass)
7. Kim Hee-Jin (IBK Altos)
8. Jung Ji-Yoon (Hyundai Engineering & Construction Hillstate)

Middle Blockers
9. Yang Hyo-Jin (Hyundai Engineering & Construction Hillstate)
10. Kim Su-Ji (IBK Altos)
11. Hang Song-I (KGC Ginseng Corporation)
12. Park Eun-jin (KGC Ginseng Corporation)
13. Moon Myung-Hwa (GS Caltex Seou KIXX)

14. Ahn Hye-Jin (GS Caltex Seou KIXX)
15. Yeom Hye-Sun (KGC Pro Volleyball Club)
16. Kim Da-In (Hyundai Engineering & Construction Hillstate)

17. Oh Ji-Young (KGC Pro Volleyball Club)
18. Lee Myung-Ok (Korea Expressway Corporation Hi-Pass)

Related links of AVC
AVC Website: click
AVC Facebook: click
AVC Twitter: click:
AVC Instagram: click:
AVC Youtube: click: Asian Volleyball Confederation
AVC WeChat: Asian Volleyball Confederation


Leave a Comment