The 14th edition of the premier competition will take place in three neighbouring Mexican cities in October

An exciting 2023 international beach volleyball season lies ahead. It will begin with the second edition of the Volleyball World Beach Pro Tour getting underway in February and will peak with the FIVB Beach Volleyball World Championships 2023, set to take place in Mexico from 6 to 15 October.

The 14th edition of FIVB’s premier beach volleyball competition will be held at an elevation of over 2,200 metres above sea level, at three historical bullrings east of the Mexican capital. One of them, Tlaxcala, has already earned its historic place on the world beach volleyball map by hosting the first event of the inaugural Beach Pro Tour in March 2022. The other two venues will be in the nearby cities of Huamantla and Apizaco.

Mexico is only the third non-European country in history to host the World Championships, after the United States welcomed the first edition to Los Angeles in 1997 and Brazilian megalopolis Rio de Janeiro set the arena for the fourth edition some 20 years ago. The Latin American country has frequently played host to various world-level tournaments since 1999 at venues like Acapulco, Rosarito, Puerto Vallarta, Chetumal and Cancun. Ahead of this year’s World Championships, it will also host two more Beach Pro Tour events in March – a Challenge tournament in La Paz, followed by an Elite16 tournament in Tepic.

As usual, 48 teams per gender will compete for the titles of 2023 world champions, but this year the crown comes with an extra incentive, a guaranteed ticket to the Olympic Games Paris 2024.

Reigning Tokyo 2020 Olympic champions Anders Mol and Christian Sorum of Norway won the men’s world title at Rome 2022, while Brazilians Eduarda Santos Lisboa (Duda) and Ana Patricia Ramos, who reunited as a duo for the start of the 2022 season, claimed the trophy on the women’s side. Both teams are current leaders in the FIVB World Ranking and will certainly be aiming to defend their crowns in Mexico this fall.

In each gender, 25 teams will qualify on the basis of ranking points and that number includes at least two Mexican duos, representing the host country. An additional 20 duos (four per Continental Confederation) will book their spots through their continent’s qualification process. The remaining three vacancies will go to wild card pairs.

The 48 participating teams will be split into 12 round-robin pools of four. The pool winners, the pool runners-up and the four best-ranked third-placed duos will advance to the 32-team single-elimination playoff phase. The remaining eight third-placed teams will have to go through an additional four-match knock-out round, with the four winners also advancing to the playoffs. A total of 216 matches will be played in Tlaxcala, Huamantla and Apizaco to determine the world champions.

As part of its innovative Volleyball Empowerment programme aimed at supporting national teams around the globe, the FIVB will continue to provide coaching support to Mexico’s beach volleyball teams as they prepare for their home-based World Championships.

Related links of AVC

AVC Website: click

AVC Facebook: click

AVC Twitter: click:

AVC Instagram: click:

AVC Youtube: click: Asian Volleyball Confederation

AVC WeChat: Asian Volleyball Confederation